“Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.” – Dalai Lama

I read this quote today while sitting in an academic advisor’s office in the Education building at Vancouver Island University.”  I liked it.

I also hoped that it was not some sign from above that things, very soon, would not be going my way.  Au contraire, I am hoping, rather strongly, that I will be get exactly what I want as a result of that meeting.

The meeting was to find out whether or not I qualify, with my current b.a., for the accelerated education program at VIU.  Actually, it looks like I am a shoe in (“lovely” grades: check.  30 credit hours in academic subjects: also check), with the exception of two minor details.  At least, I am hoping these details remain minor.  Turns out I am 9 credits, or three classes short in necessary subjects (math, english, and science), and Providence College may or may not be an acceptable accredited college.

Here’s the deal. 

This Friday is the last day I can sign up for classes.  Apparently I should know by tomorrow or Friday at the latest if the almighty VIU admissions office deems Prov a worthy institution.  If it is, I register and watch my life spin a total 180 and become a “full time” student again.  If it’s not –

I dont know.

There is much hanging in the balance for me and I’m a little nervous. 

I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

